Lightweight Men Secure 4th Successive Varsity Win at Henley

In News by Jamie BrownLeave a Comment

Blue Boat
1. Chris Jones (King’s)full
2. Robbie Sewell (Fitzwilliam)
3. Zenas Van Veldhoven (Wolfson)
4. Charlie Cummins (Pembroke)
5. Ben Mackworth (Corpus Christi)
6. Sam Philpott (Girton) Vice-President
7. Jamie Brown (King’s) President
8. Giovanni Bergamo-Andreis (Queens’) Vice-President
c. Dominic Hall (Pembroke)
Coached by Dan Janes and Steve Harris


Following Granta’s decisive win over Nepthys earlier that afternoon, the CULRC crew boated from Leander Club to begin the race warm up. Conditions had changed dramatically over the course of Henley week, from the initial tail to a strong cross-head wind which had created rough water, particularly during the stake boat practice on Thursday.

Earlier on race day Oxford had won the toss and chose the Berkshire station, so Cambridge lined up on the Buckinghamshire side of the Thames. Off the start the CULRC crew immediately began to take seats, moving out to a half-length advantage after the first minute. Cambridge cox, Dominic Hall (Pembroke), was warned by umpire, Dave Hancock, for his aggressive line as they stretched the lead out to 1.5 boat lengths by Upper Thames at a rate of 38 strokes per minute, narrowly avoiding blade contact. Spurred on by the crowds at Upper Thames, Oxford tried to mount a comeback, but this was held-off by the Cambridge crew who moved out to 2 lengths.

In the final stages of the race the dark blues bit back with an all-out sprint, but CULRC held their advantage and crossed the line with 1.75 lengths of clear water. This was the 4th consecutive Boat Race win for CULRC, the 3rd win for stroke Giovanni Bergamo-Andreis (2014, 2016, 2017), and the 2nd win for President Jamie Brown, as well as Sam Philpott, Ben Mackworth and Charlie Cummins (2016 & 2017). This takes Cambridge to 27 wins against Oxford’s 16.


Leave a Comment